Cyber security Career

What is a CompTIA Certification?

What is a CompTIA Certification
What is a CompTIA Certification

CompTIA stands to represent the Computing Technology Industry Association. It is a non-profit organization that provides vendor-neutral IT certification to anyone who wishes to gain a solid foothold in the IT sector. Worldwide, more than 2 million CompTIA certificates were issued. This blog post will answer the question “What is CompTIA certification?”

The industry of information technology is on track to surpass $5 Trillion in 2021. Experts expect that the IT industry will experience a 5% compound annual growth rate (CAGR), through 2024. There are more IT jobs available, including in software development, data management, infrastructure and software development.

Certification Types

CompTIA certifications can be divided into four categories depending on the skills they have.

Core Skills Certificates

CompTIA’s core certification training is a good place to start if you are a beginner in IT. This training will provide all the knowledge that trainees need, regardless of their career goal – whether it’s networking, computer systems or computer hardware, software, etc.

These exams are part of the Core Skills group.

  • CompTIA IT Foundations+ – This course is ideal for beginners as it covers hardware basics and software installation. It also addresses security risks and prevention.
  • CompTIA A+ For individuals who are interested in a career as a support, network, or help desk technician. A “rite of passage” for IT certifications.
  • CompTIA Network+ For those with at least nine months experience in working with networks. This exam covers topologies, security, media, troubleshooting and installation, configuration and similar topics.
  • CompTIA security+ – This CompTIA certification focuses on identity management, cybersecurity concepts, threats, and access control.

Infrastructure Certifications

Without an IT professional overseeing its network operations and data centers, a large business cannot function. This set of exams will help you become an expert in Linux operating system, cloud technologies, server infrastructure, and other IT topics.

  • CompTIA Cloud+ The Cloud+ CompTIA exam is focused on cloud technologies and cloud markets, hybrid, multi-cloud solutions and other topics.
  • CompTIA Linux+ Meant Linux network administrators who have at least 12 months experience in Linux administration.
  • CompTIA server+ This CompTIA training is recommended for server administrators with 18-24 months of experience and A+ certification. It is accepted by the US Department of Defense.

Cyber Security Certificates

Both large and small businesses have been affected by cyber-attacks. Statistics show that 1001 data breach occurred in the United States in 2020. 70% were perpetrated by outsiders, people not associated with the target business. 86% of breaches were motivated by financial gain, and 43% were directed at web applications.

These numbers are no surprise, and the cybersecurity industry is growing quickly. CompTIA is able to keep up with demand and offer a variety of professional certifications for anyone interested in pursuing a career as a cybersecurity professional.

  • CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst – CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst credential holders have a good understanding of system threat detection tools and how data, behavioral analytics and other methods are used to protect systems and applications against cyber threats.
  • CompTIA CompTIA CASP+ (CompTIA Advance Security Practitioner) This is an extremely advanced certification that’s perfect for IT professionals at the master level. CompTIA recommends that you have at least ten years’ experience in IT administration and five years of experience in technical security before applying for this certificate.
  • CompTIA PenTest+ – This section covers penetration testing to identify and manage network vulnerabilities.

Additional Certifications

CompTIA offers another group of certs, which don’t fit into any of the previous categories. These certifications are focused on project management, cloud computing’s business side, and training.

  • CompTIA project+
  • CompTIA
  • CompTIA Web Essentials+

CompTIA Stackable Certifications

A stackable certificate is a group of certificates that you need to maximize your chances of getting the job or promotion you want. CompTIA’s Career Pathways are intended to validate certificate holders’ skills and expand their knowledge.

There are two CompTIA Career Pathways.

  • CompTIA Infrastructure Career Pathway with an emphasis on Linux, servers, and networks
  • CompTIA Cybersecurity Career Pathway for cybersecurity professionals

Each of these can be divided into three levels of experience, but the Infrastructure Pathway has only two levels.

Cyber security Career
  • Specialist – for IT professionals with 0-2 Years of experience
  • Professional – for IT professionals with 2-5 Years of experience
  • Expert – for IT professionals with over 5 years experience

Infrastructure Pathway

Two options are available for the Specialist Level.

  • CompTIA IT Operations Specialist (A+ & Network+)
  • CompTIA Systems Specialist (A+ and Linux+ Exams)

Three paths are available to Professional Level trainees:

  • CompTIA Cloud Administrator Professional (Network+, Cloud+)
  • CompTIA Network Infrastructure Professional (Network+ & Server+ exam)
  • CompTIA Linux Network Professional (Network+ & Linux+ Exams)

Cybersecurity Pathway

Specialist level:

Level professional:

  • CompTIA Security Analytics Professional (Security+, CySA+)
  • CompTIA Secure Cloud Professional (Security+ & Cloud+ exams)
  • CompTIA Network Vulnerability Assessment Professional (Security+ & PenTest+ exams).
  • CompTIA Network Security Professional (Security+ and PenTest+)

Expert level:

  • CompTIA Security Analytics Expert (Security+ and CySA+ exams)
  • CompTIA Security Infrastructure Expert (Security+ and CySA+ exams, PenTest+ and CASP+ exams).


It doesn’t matter where you are at the moment in your IT career. You need to continue learning new skills and technical knowledge. IT professionals can’t afford to be left behind in an industry that is constantly changing.

CompTIA, a non-profit organization, offers a variety of industry-recognized certificates. There are courses for both beginners and professionals, as well as cyber analysts, network security specialists, program developers, system administrators, and many others. CompTIA certified professionals will help you increase your knowledge and will look great on your resume. Employers will appreciate a hardworking employee who is dedicated to becoming a professional in their field.