Cyber security Career

Which Comptia Certification Should i Get First?

Which Comptia Certification Should i Get First
Which Comptia Certification Should i Get First

CompTIA, a non-profit organization that offers dozens of IT certifications that are widely recognized, is a great resource. There are certifications for basic computer skills, cybersecurity certifications, infrastructure certifications and other certifications. These certifications can be used for cloud computing, server maintenance, penetration testing, and more. It is natural to get confused when faced with so many certification training options. It is natural to wonder: Which CompTIA certification should you get first? You might be wondering where to start.

CompTIA makes it easy to find the right place to start by categorizing and grouping all their certs. The most important factors that will determine your first CompTIA training are your current skills, experience, and the IT career path you want to follow.

MyComputerCareer has a selection of CompTIA courses that will suit everyone’s needs. Find out which course is best suited for you by reading on.

No Prior Experience

CompTIA exams require you to have a basic understanding of hardware and software. This is incorrect. You can actually get two CompTIA certifications without having any IT experience.

  • CompTIA IT Fundamentals+

The IT Fundamentals+ certification is a good place to start if you aren’t sure what the industry looks like. This certification will allow you to determine if you are qualified to become an IT professional. It can also help you decide if you would enjoy this career path.

This course covers IT basics like operating systems, network connectivity and best practices for web browsing. If you have little to no IT experience, the IT Fundamentals+ CompTIA exam would be a great choice. Although it won’t prepare for employment, it will expose you to the world and help you understand all that information technology can offer.

  • CompTIA A+

The A+ CompTIA certification can be a great choice if you are confident in your IT career but have no previous work experience. A+ is an entry level certification held by more than 2 million IT professionals. This certification covers more than Fundamentals+ and includes everything software, hardware and operating systems. It also covers visualization and cloud computing as well as security and networking basics.

You will be able to apply for work as a service desk analyst, help desk technician, data support technician, system specialist, or data support technician after completing the A+. The A+ certification exam is a “rite of passage” in IT and an industry standard.

Some IT Experience

You have at least nine months experience in IT. If so, it might be time to update your knowledge or to choose an area of IT to specialize. These CompTIA exams will allow you to narrow down your knowledge and focus on the area that you are interested in becoming an expert.

  • CompTIA Network+

Network+ is for people who want to work in IT infrastructure. This book covers all aspects of networks such as troubleshooting, configuring, managing and managing them. You will also find useful information about network security protocols and standards.

This certification will allow you to solve network problems, manage enterprise networks, troubleshoot and fix them. This certification is a great foundation for those who wish to be administrators or systems analysts, as well as network support engineers.

  • CompTIA Security+

Security+ certification is for those who are not interested in networks but want to work in cybersecurity. This exam is recognized by the US Department of Defense. Once you pass it, you will be able to work in cybersecurity.

Cyber security Career

This training course will teach you how to recognize and respond to security threats and assess security protocols of an enterprise, make suggestions for improvement, monitor, and secure environments including mobile, cloud, and IoT. Your knowledge can help you land a job as a cybersecurity specialist, security analyst, or security engineer.

Advanced Certifications

CompTIA offers a number of master-level certifications, which only IT professionals with many years of experience should try to attain. These exams are for server administrators and specialists in cybersecurity, operating systems, penetration testing, and other IT-related fields.

  • CompTIA Web Server+

The Server+ CompTIA certification exam improves skills for advanced network administration and networking work. These are the objectives of this exam.

  • CompTIA Linux+

Linux is an operating system that can be used in many IT sectors including DevOps and cloud computing. It also has cybersecurity and emerging tech capabilities. Linux+ CompTIA certification will equip you with the necessary skills to master this versatile operating system.

  • CompTIA Web+

According to statistics, more than 90% of companies use cloud storage to store their large amounts of data. Cloud+ CompTIA certification opens up the door to secure employment. This IT branch is only growing.

  • CompTIA SySA+

CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst certification expands on your cybersecurity knowledge, and prepares to deal with advanced security threats. This certification is a great complement to the CompTIA PenTest+ certificate.

  • CompTIA PenTest+

PenTest stands for penetration testing. This is a method used by cybersecurity professionals to hack into a system and discover its weaknesses. White hackers and ethical hackers are other names for penetration testers. This certification is compatible with the CySA+ defensive skill exam.

  • CompTIA

CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner is one of the last CompTIA certifications. This training will provide you with specialized knowledge in encryption, blockchain technology, and mobile security.


The CompTIA credential that you should first get is determined by your IT knowledge and experience, as well the branch in which you are interested. CompTIA offers stackable certifications. This means you can start with the most basic and move up to the more advanced ones until you are an expert in your field.